Rumble fish

Rumble Fish is an American film, directed by Francis Ford Coppola, that came out in 1983. It's based on the 1975 novel of the same name that was written by S.E. Hinton, who also co-wrote screenplay with Coppola. The film stars Matt Dillon, Mickey Rourke, Vincent Spano, Diane Lane, Diana Scarwid, Nicolas Cage and Dennis Hopper

Rumble Fish centres on the relationship between the characters The Motorcycle Boy (Rourke) and his younger brother Rusty James (Dillon). The Motorcycle Boy is a revered former gang leader wishing to live a more peaceful life and Rusty James is a teenaged hoodlum who aspires to become as feared as his brother. 

Coppola wrote the screenplay for the film with Hinton on his days off from shooting The Outsiders. He made the films back to back, retaining much of the same cast and crew, particularly Matt Dillon and Diane Lane. Rumble Fish is dedicated to Coppola's brother August.  

The film is notable for its avant-garde style with a film noir feel, shot on stark high-contrast black-and-white film, using the spherical cinematographic process with allusions to French New Wave cinema and German Expressionism. Rumble Fish features an experimental score by Stewart Copeland, drummer of the musical group the Police, who used a Musync, a new device at the time. 

(Excerpts taken from: 

Do You Remember Rumble fish?

Do You Remember Rumble fish?